February 13th

 

SELF PORTRAIT

 

 

AN ODE TO THE LATE, GREAT, ALEXANDER MCQUEEN

“MY PUMPS”

 

 

 

 

It was heartbreaking to hear that McQueen had passed.  Sad that this genius was such a tortured soul, although the two usually go hand in hand together.  He was by far my favorite designer.  His work was mind-blowing.  For me, it went beyond the clothing he made, it was the way he presented it.  I saw them as art installations.

A beautiful gift I received from my girl Charleen years ago, were a pair of his shoes.  I have never worn them out.  I am a girl who loves to wear her heels, but these are the only pair I have not been able to wear for a long period of time.  It has nothing to do with the size of the heel, but strictly the arch in the front.  They are definitely runway material only.  That is ok with me because I look at them for what they are, a piece of art.  The heel, and lining all around the bottom of the shoe, are black patent leather.  With the front of the shoe being filled of black pony fur.  They’re gorgeous.

So feeling inspired, I wanted to shoot something wearing my pumps.  Immediately an image popped into my head.  I can’t explain my thinking   process, but with the help of my 5-year old daughter Chloe’, who has seemed to become my regular assistant, this is my ode to  The  Mr. McQueen.

 

R.I.P.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “February 13th

Leave a Reply

